True. Noble. Right.

Just One Phrase

I grew up in a religious family. I was taught how to pray to Jesus when I was young. I was enrolled in a Christian school. Growing up, I thought that I need to perform well to earn my parent’s love and attention. I have to get good grades and maintain my scholarship because if not, my Dad will be disappointed.

Because I have this performance-based mentality, I thought that even with my relationship with God, I have to perform well to earn His approval and by so doing, it would entitle me a point to heaven. 

I am not from a well-off family. To send me to a medical shool is but a shot to the moon. I study hard to get good grades enough for me to maintain my scholarship. I believe most of you will agree that it is a valid reason. But looking back, I saw that my motivation wasn’t really about excelling for God rather fear of losing my scholarship and fear of failure.

Things changed when I met Christ. When I was a second year medical student, my classmate started doing ONE2ONE with me. She shared her faith with me and then I fully grasped what salvation really means. It has nothing to do with what I do for God. It is all about what God did for me. Salvation is a gift not a reward; hence it is freely given and not earned. All I have to do is to trust in the name of JESUS CHRIST for my salvation and stop trusting in myself and my own good works.

After that, I learned to trust God even with my grades in medical school. Yes, I still study hard but I am no longer motivated by fear of losing my scholarship or fear of failure; rather I am driven by His love and purpose for my life. He allowed me to excel minus my worries and fears. At the very time that I gave up my performance-based mentality, was the very moment I started seeing that I am really shining for Him. God made me experience the joy in going out my way and started sharing my life with other people just like what Jesus did and just like what my classmate did.

By His grace and for His glory, I graduated with recognition and was even awarded as Most Outstanding Intern. But more than these things, I am blessed to know how the Lord had made me fruitful in every aspect of my life; not just academically or financially but also spiritually. Only God can do that. Indeed, apart from Him, I can do nothing.

Today, I ask you this question: would you like to experience God’s grace in your life? Stop trusting in yourself and start trusting in Christ alone for salvation.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith — and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God — not by works, so that no one can boast.

Ephesians 2:8-9

[Photo by graceposters.com]

5 thoughts on “Just One Phrase”

Leave a Reply

